Zadkovich retirement headlines Perth Glory roster clear out

Perth Glory said farewell to five players, including midfielder Ruben Zadkovich, from their 2015-2016 A-League squad as the club set their sights on next season.

The club announced on Saturday the departure of Hungarian duo Gyorgy Sandor and Krisztian Vadocz along with Diogo Ferreira and Hagi Gligor, while chronic knee injuries forced veteran Zadkovich into early retirement.

Efforts were made by Perth to re-sign Sandor but the midfield enforcer was set on a return to Europe to be closer to his family.

Glory owner Tony Sage has been proactive in the transfer window signing Australia players Adam Taggart, Chris Herd and Rhys Williams. Sage was also in Madrid midweek to negotiate a new contract for Johnny Warren Medal winner Diego Castro.

Perth recognised the efforts of the departing players during their end of season awards night - at which Castro won five awards - including a tribute to Zadkovich’s 151 game A-League career.

The former Socceroos player, who turns 30 this month, has been assisting Glory Youth team coach John Gibson in the past season and is currently in discussions with the club about the prospect of a coaching career.

“It’s been an agonising and frustrating 12 months and it’s a very serious injury which has ended my days as a footballer,” Zadkovich said

"I'm extremely grateful to have played the game I love most. It has given me everything I dreamed of as a young kid. I've got no regrets.

"As this next chapter unfolds, I'll be focusing on developing my coaching skills, and give back to the game that served me so well.

"To the mates I've made in this game, the guys I went into battle with each week, I'd like to thank them for their comradeship over the years."

Castro added an unprecedented five Glory awards to his A-League Player of the Year gong.

1.    QBE Most Glorious Player
2.    Golden Boot (13-goals)
3.    Players’ Player of the Year,
4.    Volunteers’ Player of the Year
5.    QBE Supporters’ Man of the Match

“It’s been a wonderful experience for me and my family and I am truly humbled" 33 year-old Castro said.

"Tony Sage, the players, staff and all the members have been exceptional and very hospitable since I first arrived” he said.

"It's a season that will always be a highlight for me and an experience I will never forget".

Socceroos right-back Josh Risdon was named Young Player of The Year and Best Clubman.

Vanessa DiBernardo was named Women's Most Glorious Player and the W-League team's Golden Boot.

Source: perth glory