W-League set for historic double header as fixtures released

Melbourne City players celebrate their 2019-20 W-League triumph Source: Getty Images

The W-League 2020-21 season fixtures have been released, and it promises to be an action-packed 14 rounds from late December until the end of March.

The competition will kick off with a historic double-header on December 27 as Western Sydney Wanderers host Melbourne Victory on Sunday afternoon.

The match will be the first time both the men's and women's domestic seasons have started together on the same day. 

Another men's and women's double header will close out the round just three days later - in a blockbuster grand final re-match between W-League champions Melbourne City and Sydney FC at ANZ Stadium. 

There are 11 double-header fixtures in total involving the two competitions across the 14 rounds - with Sydney FC involved in five.

"It's going to be great to get more exposure, playing before the men and having a bigger crowd," said new Sydney FC goalkeeper Jada Whyman, who moved from Western Sydney in the off-season.

As things stand, no W-League teams will be required to relocate due to border restrictions, with Perth Glory due to host Canberra United in their season opener at Dorrien Gardens on December 29, before playing Brisbane away in round two.

Several teams will play out of multiple home grounds - with Sydney FC (five home venues), Melbourne Victory (four), Western Sydney (three) all regularly on the move.

With many of the senior Matildas players now based in Europe, the season is shaping as a great opportunity for younger players to impress.

"We can create more depth here in Australia by giving other players opportunities at this point," Whyman said.

"It's a great time to do it as women's football is just taking off and so for us we need to keep creating more depth so we can keep up with other countries around the world."

With 15 current or former Matildas players and more than 40 potential Young Matildas set to feature in this season's campaign, the competition will be fierce as preparations for the Tokyo Olympics and AFC U20 Women's Asian Cup are set to commence soon.

The FFA's Head of Leagues, Greg O'Rourke voiced his excitement at the breadth of representative talent across the league this season.

“This year’s Westfield W-League is packed full of young, Australian talent as the players battle for places in the Westfield Matildas squad ahead of the rescheduled Olympic Games to be held in Tokyo and the AFC U20 Women’s Asian Cup," O'Rourke said.

“The world is watching women’s football in Australia."


Western Sydney v Melbourne Victory, Bankwest Stadium, December 27

Sydney FC v Melbourne City, ANZ Stadium, December 30

Sydney FC v Western Sydney, ANZ Stadium, January 16

Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory, TBC, January 28

Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar, Coopers Stadium, March 21.

Full 2020-21 W-League season draw