The A-League returns LIVE and free on SBS ONE


The Hyundai A-League, Australia's premier football competition, returns to SBS on Friday 10 October when Melbourne Victory takes on the Western Sydney Wanderers LIVE from Etihad Stadium.

With key international players and local stars, the 10th season of the Hyundai A-League is set to deliver the best season yet.

This year Melbourne City and Sydney FC have made significant marquee signings, including Spanish superstar David Villa (Melbourne City), former Chelsea player and Ireland international Damien Duff (Melbourne City) and current Austria national team striker Marc Janko (Sydney FC).

There is also the return of local talent and Socceroos stars, including Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanders), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Alex Brosque (Sydney FC) and Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory).

Plus foreigners of the calibre of two-times A-League player of the year Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), former Johnny Warren Medal winner Marcos Flores (Newcastle Jets) and goalscoring ace Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory).

SBS's live Friday night match coverage will be hosted by David Zdrilic, with LIVE match commentary by David Basheer and Lucy Zelic pitch side with onsite interviews.

As well as a LIVE match every Friday night, SBS will broadcast a season preview show at 10pm (AEDT) on Sunday 5 October on SBS 2, with an A-League highlights show titled, A-League Extra Time, continuing in the same timeslot throughout the season, hosted by Lucy Zelic and co-hosted by David Zdrilic.

Both Lucy and David are well known to Australia's football audience, having shared hosting duties of the 2014 FIFA World Cup for SBS, which reached 10.7 million viewers across the entire month.

Throughout the season the A-League, hosts will also be joined by SBS chief football analyst Craig Foster along with a range of Socceroos and A-League stars, both past and present.

The Hyundai A-League is LIVE and free on Fridays 7.30pm (AEDT) on SBS ONE, SBS HD and

For a full SBS match schedule click here.

SBS Broadcast schedule:

2014-2015 Hyundai A-League Season Preview
Sunday 5 October on SBS 2 at 10pm

Round 1: Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney
Friday 10 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD at 7:30pm (AEDT)

Round 2: Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory
Friday 17 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD at 7:30pm (AEDT)

Round 3: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Friday 24 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD at 7:30pm (AEDT)

Round 4: Melbourne City v Adelaide United
Friday 31 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD at 7:30pm (AEDT)

A-League Extra Time
Sundays from Sunday 12 October on SBS 2 at 10pm

Source SBS