Ryan, Catley claim PFA Footballer of the Year awards

PFA award winners Mat Ryan and Steph Catley Source: Getty Images

Professional Footballers Australia have unveiled Mat Ryan as their Men’s Footballer of the Year, with Steph Catley claiming the Women’s award for the very first time.

Ryan, a previous winner in 2015 and 2019, continued his excellent form between the sticks for Brighton and Hove Albion as they secured their place in the Premier League for a fourth consecutive season.

“It’s always the most prestigious one when you’re voted by fellow colleagues you’re rubbing shoulder with,” Ryan said.

“For them to acknowledge and recognise your contributions to Australian football, it’s a very humbling feeling.”

Catley, meanwhile, was taken aback by the news of her victory, having helped Melbourne City to a premiership-championship double before signing for Women’s Super League giants Arsenal.

“It’s an absolutely incredible feeling and very unexpected, especially being nominated alongside Sam (Kerr) and Emily (van Egmond), who have both had incredible seasons,” Catley said.

“It’s very humbling and there’s no better award than being recognised by your teammates; that definitely hits home and it’s a proud moment for me for sure.”

Fellow Matildas star Ellie Carpenter received the Young Footballer of the Year award, while former Wellington Phoenix defender Liberato Cacace was voted the Harry Kewell medallist.