Rojas wins Johnny Warren Medal

Marco Rojas shows off his Johnny Warren Medal as the A-League's best player (Getty)

Melbourne Victory star Marco Rojas became the first player since Mark Viduka to win the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards in the same season.

Rojas claimed the Johnny Warren Medal after a majority of his peers voted him the A-League's best player in 2012-2013. The New Zealand international was also crowned NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

Marco Rojas reflects on his award:


Rojas was the standout winner after receiving 908 votes from his playing peers ahead of Alessandro Del Piero (449 votes) Daniel McBreen (280 votes), Michael McGlinchey (239 votes) and Dario Vidosic (222 votes).

In picking up the Young Footballer of the Year Award Rojas also received a $10,000 personal investment portfolio and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Brisbane Roar’s Clare Polkinghorne received the Julie Dolan Medal for W-League Player of the Year.

Polkinghorne's Roar teammate, Tameka Butt, received the W-League’s Player’s Player of the Year Award, although Butt was unable to accept the gong due to commitments with her German club 1 FFC Frankfurt.

Adelaide United’s Awer Mabil picked up the National Youth League Player of the Year Award.

Western Sydney Wanderers Goalkeeper Ante Covic capped off a stellar season with the A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Canberra United’s Mackenzie Arnold was named the W-League Goalkeeper of the Year.

McBreen collected the Golden Boot Award after scoring 17 goals during the regular season, while Katie Gill from Perth Glory was the W-League Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 11 goals throughout the season.


After claiming the Premiers’ Plate in the last round of the season, Western Sydney Wanderers coach Tony Popovic picked up the A-League Coach of the Year Award in his rookie season. Brisbane Roar coach Mike Mulvey was named the W-League Coach of the Year for his efforts with Melbourne Victory, before switching to Roar.

Melbourne Victory midfielder Marcos Flores picked up the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 5 effort against Wellington Phoenix. Emily van Egmond from the Newcastle Jets scored the W-League Goal of the Year with her fantastic solo effort against Perth Glory in Round 11.

Brisbane Roar picked up both the A-League and National Youth League Fair Play Awards for accruing the least number of yellow and red cards in each competition. Sydney FC received the W-League Fair Play Award.

Peter Green received his first A-League Referee of the Year award whilst Kate Jacewicz was named the W-League’s Referee of the Year for an amazing fourth consecutive season.