PFA announce A-League team of the season


Professional Footballers Australia have today announced their annual player-voted A-League team of the 2019-20 season.

Reigning premiers Sydney FC had a league-best five selections this time out, with defenders Rhyan Grant and Alex Wilkinson accompanying Luke Brattan, Milos Ninkovic and Adam Le Fondre.

The Sky Blues led the way after yet another impressive season and have the chance to clinch a second successive championship when they face Melbourne City in the grand final on Sunday.

City's Jamie Maclaren, the league's top scorer, was named captain of the select squad and joined Le Fondre and Besart Berisha in a formidable front three.


Berisha is not the only Western United star to make the cut from the club's first season, with Alessandro Diamanti also earning his place in the starting eleven, joining Brattan and Ulises Davila in midfield.

The Mexican's Wellington Phoenix teammate Liberato Cacace rounded out the back-four, as did Michael Jakobsen (Adelaide United), before Brisbane's Jamie Young returned as goalkeeper.

Ufuk Talay took the reins at head coach, having helped the Nix finish third in his managerial debut at the A-League level.

PFA Team of the Season

PFA Team of the Season

Formation: 4-3-3

Coach: Ufuk Talay

Goalkeeper: Jamie Young

Defenders: Rhyan Grant, Alex Wilkinson, Michael Jakobsen, Liberato Cacace

Midfielders: Ulises Davila, Luke Brattan, Alessandro Diamanti

Forwards: Besart Berisha, Jamie Maclaren (c), Adam Le Fondre

Bench: Paul Izzo, Steven Taylor, Milos Ninkovic, Riley McGree, Mitch Duke