Olyroos quartet handed lengthy bans over Cambodia incident

Olyroos' suspended quartet Source: Getty Images

Olyroos quartet Riley McGree, Lachlan Wales, Nathaniel Atkinson and Brandon Wilson have received suspensions from the FFA for a code of conduct breach over an incident in Cambodia in March.

McGree has been banned from international duty until 1 April 2020, while Wales, Atkinson and Wilson are banned until 10 August 2020 - meaning that trio cannot be selected for the Tokyo Olympics.

The quartet will be suspended from January's AFC under-23 championships, the qualifying tournament for the Olympics, after they were found to have "engaged in unprofessional conduct."

As reported by The World Game on Sunday, The foursome were issued “show cause” notices by the ruling body in October after allegations leveled over their conduct on the final night of their stay in Phnom Penh.

Whilst the specifics of the incident cannot be revealed at this point because of the legal ramifications, it is thought to highlight several cultural issues.

All four players were omitted from the Olyroos squad currently in China on a three-game tour, and it’s understood coach Gary van Egmond has been told to prepare for January’s AFC U-23 Championship without them in mind.

The incident took place under the watch of Socceroos coach Graham Arnold, who will resume the Olyroos reins for the tournament in Thailand which runs from January 8-26.

Source AAP