Old rivals to meet in A-League finals


Old rivals Melbourne Victory and Adelaide United will clash in an A-League elimination final while Brisbane clinched the last finals berth after a dramatic closing round.

The Roar's 3-2 away win over fellow finals aspirant Perth on Saturday lifted the Queensland side into sixth after they entered round 27 a point behind Western Sydney.

The Wanderers had the chance to snatch back sixth on Sunday with a win at home but lost 3-2 to Adelaide after leading 1-0.

All of which means Brisbane will play third-placed Melbourne City at AAMI Park on Friday.

Two days later, the same venue will host the match-up between Victory and Adelaide, who finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Brisbane fell behind at Perth, but substitute Henrique bagged a brace and goalkeeper Jamie Young saved a Diego Castro penalty.

Both Victorian teams head into the finals on the back of a loss.

Victory lost 1-0 at premiers Sydney FC and City slipped 2-1 at Wellington Phoenix.

Bruno Fornaroil continued his late-season scoring run for City to put them in front, but a double to Sarpreet Singh crushed any hopes of a win for the visitors.

City expect to have captain Michael Jakobsen back from a sore thigh for the game against Roar.

Sydney's Brazilian striker Bobo swelled his league season-scoring record to 27 with the only goal of the game at Allianz Stadium on Friday.

Sydney weren't at their best and needed two goal-line clearances from Alex Wilkinson to keep Victory at bay.

Second-placed Newcastle bounced back to form after three straight losses, recording an astonishing 8-2 away win over local rivals Central Coast on Saturday.

Riley McGree bagged a hat-trick and Roy O'Donovan two for the Jets in the highest-scoring game in A-league history.

A hamstring injury to Ben Kantarovski was one sour note for the Jets.

The loss combined with Wellington's win meant the Mariners collected the wooden spoon for the second time in three seasons.



Friday, 20 April: Melbourne City (3rd)  v Brisbane Roar (6th) at AAMI Park, Melbourne, 7:50pm AEST

Sunday 22nd April: Melbourne Victory (4th) v Adelaide United (5th) at AAMI Park, Melbourne, 6pm AEST


Friday, 27 April: Newcastle Jets (2nd) v highest ranked elimination final winner at McDonald Jones Stadium, 7:50pm AEST

Saturday 28 April: Sydney FC (1st) vs lowest ranked elimination final winner at Allianz Stadium, 7:50pm AEST.

Source: AAP

Broadcast Partners

Connect with SBS and the 2018 FIFA World Cup™

  • Subscribe
  • App
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch