Messi, Neymar and Ronaldo nominees for FIFA's top player

The nominees Source: Getty

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar are the contenders for FIFA's top player award for the third straight year.

The trio headline an array of nominees announced on Saturday morning, with Massimiliano Allegri of Juventus, Antonio Conte of Chelsea and Real Madrid's Zinedine Zidane named as the candidates for the FIFA Coach of the Year award.

The final three were chosen after the preliminary list of 10 was cut down, with Manchester United boss Jose Mourinho and Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola among the names to miss out.

Juventus head coach Allegri won the Serie A and the Coppa Italia last season, in addition to making it to the UEFA Champions League final where they lost to a Real Madrid side led by Zidane.

Real won La Liga in addition to their confederation triumph while Conte tasted Premier League glory in his first season in England, after taking over a side who finished the previous campaign in tenth place.

Carlo Ancelotti, Luis Enrique, Leonardo Jardim, Joachim low, Mauricio Pochettino, Diego Simeone and Tite were the other managers to miss out on making the final three.

Claudio Ranieri was named Best FIFA Coach of the Year in 2016 after Leicester City's historic run that saw them win the Premier League.

Also announced on Friday were the 10 nominations for the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017, which will be decided by a fan vote with Kevin-Prince Boateng, Alejandro Camargo, Denya Castellanos, Moussa Dembele, Olivier Giroud, Aviles Hurtado, Mario Mandzukic, Oscarine Masuluke, Nemanja Matic and Jordi Mboula all having their efforts up for the final prize.

The finalists for the best goalkeeper award are Gianluigi Buffon, Keylor Navas and Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer while the best women's player will be between 18 year-old Venezuelan Denya Castellanos, last year's winner Carli Lloyd and Dutch playmaker Lieke Martens.

The top women's coach will be battled out between Nils Neilsen, Gerard Precheur and Sarina Weigman, with the winners announced on October 23 in London.

Source Omnisport