Matidas star Kerr cut as USA pair Rapinoe and Morgan up for FIFA Best honour

Alex Mprgan (L), Samantha Kerr (C), Megan Rapinoe (R) Source: Getty Images

Matildas star Sam Kerr has been cut from the shortlist for The Best FIFA Women's Player award with Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan and Lucy Bronze named as the three finallists.

United States stars Rapinoe and Morgan will battle England international Bronze for the honour after nine names were trimmed from the original shortlist.

Kerr, who has already collected two prestigious ESPY awards this year, including for the best international women's soccer player, and was a top scorer for Perth Glory last season and for Chicago Red Stars in the 2018 NWSL, missed out along with the US's Julie Ertz and Rose Lavelle.

This was the third consecutive year Kerr was shortlisted for the FIFA gong.

Fellow Australian Joe Montemurro has also missed out is for the best women's coach award. The former Melbourne City assistant coach was shortlisted after he guided Arsenal Women to their first English Super League title since 2012 in his first full season in charge.

Montemurro was cut in favour of USA coach Jill Ellis, England's Phil Neville, and coach of the Netherlands Sarina Wiegman, who are the three finallists.

Lyon right-back Bronze was named UEFA Women's Player of the Year last week but faces stiff competition from Rapinoe and Morgan to claim the global accolade.

Rapinoe, 34, looks to be the frontrunner after spearheading her country to Women's World Cup glory earlier this year.

The winger scooped the Golden Boot with six goals from five games and completed a triumphant individual double by claiming the Golden Ball.

Team-mate Morgan netted the same number of goals in France, including the winner in the 2-1 semi-final defeat of England, and only missed out on the goalscoring crown by virtue of playing more minutes than Rapinoe.

Bronze's hopes could hinge on a strong club campaign as she helped Lyon to the treble, although two of the previous three winners - Carli Lloyd and Marta - have been based in the NWSL in America.

Similar battle lines have been drawn for the title of The Best FIFA Women's Coach, with England manager Phil Neville in contention against Jill Ellis, who has won back-to-back World Cups with USA.

Netherlands boss Sarina Wiegman is the other contender after leading her country to the World Cup final.

Christiane Endler, Hedvig Lindahl and Sari van Veenendaal are the finalists for the goalkeeper's gong.

All award winners will be announced at a ceremony in Milan on September 23 and will be broadcast LIVE on SBS Viceland and live streamed on The World Game website and app.


The Best FIFA Football Awards finalists in full

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) - Juventus
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Virgil van Dijk (NED) - Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player
Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City
Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool
Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team
Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team
Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

FIFA Fan Award
Silvia Grecco (BRA)
Netherlands Fans at the Women’s World Cup (NED)
Justo Sánchez (URU)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
Alisson (BRA) - Liverpool
Ederson (BRA) – Manchester City
Marc-André ter Stegen (GER) – FC Barcelona

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
Christiane Endler (CHI) – Paris Saint-Germain
Hedvig Lindahl (SWE) – Chelsea / Wolfsburg
Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

FIFA Puskás Award
Lionel Messi (ARG) - Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)
Juan Fernando Quintero (COL) - River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)
Dániel Zsóri (HUN) - Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

Source Omnisport