Update: SBS Sport website to
become home
of all our sport
content on 09/08/2021.

Jurman collects top gong at Sydney FC end of season awards

Source: Getty Images

Defender Matt Jurman was the big winner at the Sydney FC Sky Blue Ball on Friday taking home three of the night's major awards - including A-League Player of the Year.

Jurman held off star imports Milos Ninkovic and Filip Holosko to secure the club’s A-League Player of the Year title while also nabbing the Sydney FC Members’ Player of the Year and the Player’s Player of the Year awards.

The defender became only the second player to collect all three major Sydney FC club awards after Milos Dimitrijevic won all three during season 2014-2015.

Missing only two matches of the A-League season, Jurman played every minute of the 25 games he featured in. He also put in a man of the match performance to keep $65 million dollar man Jackson Martinez quiet in the Sky Blues' 2-1 home victory against the reigning AFC Champions league winners Guangzhou Evergrande.

Jurman said he had set out this season to take his game to a new level. 

“It’s a big honour to take home these awards,” he said.

“It was great to hold down my position this year and not miss too many games, I felt my performances were good and I’m proud to be recognized with these three awards.

“I’d like to thank the fantastic Sydney FC members and fans for your support, your backing has been excellent all season and has helped us achieve a piece of history for the club in the Champions League.” 

Sydney FC W-League central defender Alanna Kennedy earned the W-League Players' Player of the Year award after a standout season for the W-League Grand Final runners-up.

Kennedy started 12 matches for the Sky Blues, playing every minute of each, and said she was thrilled to have taken out the top award for the W-League season.

“I’m really honoured to have been voted the Players’ Player of the Year,” she said.

“It was an enjoyable season with a great group of girls and staff.”

International marquee Filip Holosko picked up the Sydney FC A-League Golden Boot with 10 goals. Kyah Simon took home the W-League Golden Boot for her six goals in 12 appearances.

National Youth League midfielder Daniel Araujo was voted the Sydney FC Youth League Players' Player of the Year.  

Sydney FC General Manager Digital, Media and Communications David Warriner was presented with the Chairman’s Award while the club's former W-League coach, Matildas coach Alen Stajcic, became the ninth inductee into Sydney FC’s Hall of Fame.

Sydney FC Awards 2015-2016


Player of the year: Matt Jurman
Players' player of the year: Matt Jurman
Members' player of the year: Matt Jurman
Golden boot: Filip Holosko


Players' player of the year: Alanna Kennedy
Golden boot: Kyah Simon

National Youth League

Players' player of the year: Daniel Araujo

Source Sydney FC