Joeys down Tahiti

The Joeys have beaten Tahiti 9-0 in the Oceania qualifying tournament for the FIFA Under-17 World Championship.

The Joeys have beaten Tahiti 9-0 in the Oceania qualifying tournament for the FIFA Under-17 World Championship at the Maroochydore Regional Soccer Centre.

Coach Ange Postecoglou made a number of changes to the side that scored a first-up win over the Solomon Islands on Saturday, but Adam Casey and Richie Cardozo – who had both scored in that match – again took the goalscoring honours with hat-tricks. Eric Paartalu scored twice while Tim Smits also hit the back of the net.

Vice-captain Paartalu opened the scoring from the penalty spot after 15 minutes and doubled the Joeys’ lead just a few minutes later with a sweetly struck free-kick from just outside the penalty area.

Casey followed his lead with back-to-back goals, both scored at the far post after good lead-up work from Matthew Deegan and Lachlin Cahill, respectively.

After going to the break up 4-0, Smits opened the second-half scoring just four minutes in before Casey had a chance to stretch the lead in the 55th minute, only to have his penalty saved by the Tahitian goalkeeper.

Joeys goalkeeper Nathan Hughes, a virtual spectator for long periods of the match, then produced an outstanding point-blank save from Hiroana Poroiae midway through the half and the ball was cleared upfield for Cardozo to race clear of the defence and score.

Following the trend of goals coming in braces, Cardozo prodded home his second 12 minutes later, but he then went one better than his teammates with a simple tap-in to complete his hat-trick within a 13-minute period.

Casey completed his hat-trick in the last minute of the match after unselfish lead-up work from Smits.

The Joeys now have a three-day break before facing Vanuatu on Thursday, arch rival New Zealand on Saturday and Tonga on Monday, to complete the group matches.

Australia 9
(Paartalu 15, 17, Casey 28, 35, 89, Smits 49, Cardozo 69, 81, 82)
Tahiti 0

Australian line-up:
Nathan Hughes (gk) Ben Griffin, Evangelos Karavitis, Yianni Sarris, Adrian Leijer, Eric Paartalu (Angelo Martino 46'), Adam Casey, Lachlan Cahill, Tim Smits, Matthew Deegan (Richie Cardozo 67'), Oliver Totani

Cautions: nil
Source: Sportal