Flores takes top gong

Player of the year...Adelaide United star Marcos Flores (Getty)

Adelaide United’s Argentinean midfielder Marcos Flores has taken out the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal at the A-League 2010-2011 Awards Night held in Sydney.

Flores received 618 votes from his playing peers, well ahead of Brisbane Roar’s duo of Thomas Broich (495 votes) and Matt McKay (432).

"I want to share this with my teammates, and the whole club, everybody worked so hard." said Flores who joined Adelaide late last season from Chilean club Curico Unido.

"Thankyou to Australia!"

Flores becomes the third straight foreign player to win the award, following Melbourne's Costa Rican midfielder Carlos Hernandez last season and New Zealand striker Shane Smeltz in 2008-2009.

Central Coast Mariners Goalkeeper Matthew Ryan was presented the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award with Adelaide United striker Sergio Van Dijk collecting the Reebok Golden Boot Award courtesy of his 16 goal haul during the regular season.

After claiming the Premiers’ Plate with a record breaking unbeaten streak, Brisbane Roar picked up four awards with Ange Postecoglou receiving the Coach of the Year Award, Michael Theoklitos the Goalkeeper of the Year Award, Erik Paartalu the SOLO Goal of the Year Award and the team receiving the Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red cards.

Matthew Breeze picked up the Zurich Referee of the Year award, an accolade that he last won in 2008/09.

Gold Coast United Youth team captain, Steven Lustica, was named the National Youth League 2010/11 Player of the Year.

In the women's awards, Sydney FC's Kyah Simon scooped the pool taking out the Julie Dolan Medal for W-League player of the year, young player of the year, players' player of the year and the golden boot award with 11 goals in 12 matches.

Sydney's Heather Garriock owned the goal of the year, Sky Blues coach Alen Stajcic was named coach of the year while goalkeeper of the year went to Canberra's Lydia Williams.

Melbourne Victory claimed the W-League Fair Play Award while Kate Jacewicz picked up the Referee of the Year award after earlier this year receiving her FIFA referees badge.

Source: Football Federation Australia