FFA Cup minnows to face champions Melbourne City

Melbourne City players celebrate last season's FFA Cup title Source: Getty Images

Melbourne City will open their FFA Cup defence on the road against Queensland minnows Peninsula Power in the round of 32, which includes six other tournament first-timers.

The draw for the FFA Cup's fourth instalment was held on Thursday, sending reigning A-League champions and 2016 finalists Sydney FC to the Northern Territory to face Darwin Rovers FC, while Perth will head to Victoria to take on Heidelberg United.

Elsewhere, Brisbane Roar will host Melbourne Victory in a top-flight showdown, while last year's NPL champions, Sydney United, are off to north Queensland to play FNQ Heat.

The FFA Cup round of 32 fixtures are scheduled to take place over four match nights on Tuesday and Wednesday between July 25 - August 9.

Full FFA Cup round of 32 draw

Brisbane Roar (QLD) v Melbourne Victory (VIC) 

Wellington Phoenix (NZ) v Western Sydney Wanderers (NSW)

Adelaide United (SA) v Newcastle Jets (NSW)

Hills United (NSW) v Hakoah Sydney City East (NSW)

Sorrento (WA) v Canberra Olympic (ACT)

Gold Coast City (QLD) v Western Knights (WA)

Bankstown Berries (NSW) v Metrostars (SA)

Sydney United (NSW) v FNQ Heat (QLD)

Hume City (VIC) v Bentleigh Greens (VIC)

Moreton Bay United (QLD) v Broadmeadow Magic (NSW)

Olympia FC (TAS) v APIA Leichhardt (NSW)

South Melbourne (VIC) v Edgeworth Eagles (NSW)

Peninsula Power (QLD ) v Melbourne City (VIC)

Blacktown City (NSW) v Central Coast Mariners (NSW)

Darwin Rovers FC (NT) v Sydney FC (NSW)

Heidelberg United (VIC) v Perth Glory (WA)

Source: AAP