Del Piero headlines strong Sydney FC team of the decade

Alessandro Del Piero adds a touch of international class to Sydney FC's Team of the Decade. (Getty) Source: Getty Images

Italy legend Alessandro Del Piero may not have been good enough to make the starting side in the A-League Team of the Decade but he was front and centre in Sydney FC's.

Sky Blues Hall of Fame member Steve Corica was named captain and Vitezslav Lavicka, who coached the club to the premiership and championship double in 2010, was named mentor of the decade.

"I've had the pleasure of playing with and working with all of the players in this squad and I can say that they are all deserving members of this team and their place in Sydney FC history," Corica said.

The announcment of the 'best of'  ensemble proved to be a red letter evening for Del Piero's former team-mate, Milos Dimitrijevic, who was rewarded for his stellar campaign with a trio of club gongs including Player of the Year.

As well as being named in the club's team of the decade, the Serbian recruit took all three of Sydney FC's vote-based awards, also being named Players' Player of the Year and Members' Player of the Year.

Marquee striker Marc Janko was awarded the club's golden boot for his 16 strikes this season.

Both Dimitrijevic and Janko are yet to be secured by the club for next season.

Dimitrijevic, who signed with the Sky Blues in January 2014 after stints in Serbia, France and Italy, has become a lynchpin of coach Graham Arnold's starting side and played every minute of every game bar one this season.

His creativity, passing and vision have been integral in helping Sydney secure second spot on the ladder and a home semi-final in the club's best campaign for five years.

Dimitrijevic, who is also a leading contender for the Johnny Warren Medal, says he is only focused on the biggest prize of all: the A-League championship trophy.

"To win such trophies at a big club like Sydney FC is very special and I am glad that I could help the team reach our goals for this season," he said.

"Now we must focus on the A-League finals series and look to achieve our goal of winning the grand final.

Player of the year: Milos Dimitrijevic
Players' player of the year: Milos Dimitrijevic
Members' player of the year: Milos Dimitrijevic
Golden boot: Marc Janko
W-League player of the year: Jasmyne Spencer
Youth League player of the year: George Blackwood

Goalkeeper: Clint Bolton
Right-back: Sebastian Ryall
Left-back: Alvin Ceccoli
Centre-backs: Simon Colosimo, Mark Rudan
Defensive midfielder: Terry McFlynn
Right midfielder: Karol Kisel
Left midfielder: Alex Brosque
Attacking midfielder: Steve Corica (c)
Strikers: Alessandro Del Piero, Marc Janko
Subs: Vedran Janjetovic, Byun Sung-hwan, Milos Dimitrijevic, Terry Antonis, Dwight Yorke
Coach: Vitezslav Lavicka