Davis wins SPL award

Steven Davis has been crowned player of the year at PFA Scotland's annual awards dinner in Glasgow.

The 25-year-old Northern Ireland midfielder was honoured by his peers after helping Rangers retain the Scottish Premier League and win the Co-operative Insurance Cup.

He scored only four goals in all competitions but is widely considered to be the driving force behind Rangers' success this term.

Davis beat team-mates David Weir and Kris Boyd to the award, as well as Dundee United captain Andy Webster, who is on loan at Tannadice from Ibrox.

Boss Walter Smith completed a hat-trick of gongs by being named manager of the year, adding to his Scottish Football Writers' Association and Clydesdale Bank Premier League prizes.

Smith was up against Derek McInnes of St Johnstone and Ross County's Derek Adams.

Defender Danny Wilson made it a clean sweep of the major prizes for Rangers after being named young player of the year.

The other nominees were all strikers; Hibernian's Anthony Stokes, Dundee United's David Goodwillie and Dundee's Leigh Griffiths.

Award Winners:

SPL Player of the Year: Steven Davis (Rangers)

Young Player of the Year: Danny Wilson (Rangers)

First Division Player of the Year: Adam Rooney (Inverness)

Second Division Player of the Year: Rory McAllister (Brechin)

Third Division Player of the Year: Robbie Winters (Livingston)

Manager of the Year: Walter Smith (Rangers)

Goal of the Season: Madjid Bougherra (Rangers v Dundee United, 30 December)

Special Merit Award: Archie Macpherson and Arthur Montford.