• (Left to right) Netherlands' Arjen Robben, Italy's Gianluigi Buffon and Chile's Alexis Sanchez (Getty Images)
Four-time champions Italy have missed out on 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification, a day before Australia's hopes go on the line against Honduras.

The challenge of World Cup qualifying was laid bare on Tuesday morning (AEDT) when the worst nightmares of Italian football were realised in Milan.

Italy were denied by a stoic Swedish side, unable to score a goal at home after losing the first leg 1-0 in Solna.

Italy miss first World Cup in 60 years
Italy will miss out on the World Cup for the first time in 60 years as Sweden secured a precious goalless draw that punched their ticket to Russia thanks to a 1-0 aggregate win.

Given scoring goals at home is the same task facing Australia after a 0-0 draw in the away leg on Saturday in San Pedro Sula, Italy's demise is likely to heighten the senses in the Socceroos camp.

In a qualifying process that has already produced a number of boilovers, this was the biggest by far.

Italy are a staple of the global tournament, an ever-present and, usually, a force to be reckoned with.

Since 1934, Italy have only missed one World Cup, coincidentally, in 1958 in the Sweden-hosted event.

Despite failing to get out of their group at the past two editions, they were champions in 2006 and are generally viewed as perennial contenders.

Emotional Buffon confirms international retirement
Gianluigi Buffon fought back tears as he confirmed his retirement from international football after Italy's shock failure to qualify for Russia 2018.

But for the 2018 event, they were cruelled by a tough qualifying draw which pitted them with Spain, leading to a second-placed group finish.

Sweden's backs-to-the-wall playoff effort ended Italy's World Cup run, returning Janne Andersson's side to the showpiece tournament for the first time in 12 years.

Italy join the Netherlands, South American champions Chile and African champions Cameroon as powerhouse countries that won't be appearing in Russia.

Australia will become the third continental champions to miss out on the World Cup, should they fail to get past Honduras at ANZ Stadium.

But should the Socceroos win through, they'll be in elite company as one of just 12 nations to have participated at the past four events.

Cahill ready to put body on the line for Socceroos
A fit Tim Cahill says he'll put his body on the line in Australia's World Cup qualifying play-off second leg against Honduras in Sydney.

Brazil, Germany, Argentina, Spain, South Korea, Mexico, Japan, England, France, Portugal, Switzerland and - possibly - Australia have been at each World Cup since Germany 2006.

Missing Russia: Countries that won't be at the 2018 World Cup

Italy - Four-time champions, ranked world number 15

Netherlands - Runners-up in 2010, third in 2014, ranked world number 20

Chile - Back-to-back South American champions and world number 9

Cameroon - Seven-time qualifiers and reigning African champions

Cote D'Ivoire - Two-time African champions and had qualified for past three World Cups

South Africa - 2010 World Cup hosts and three-time qualifiers

USA - Haven't missed a World Cup since 1986

China - World's most populous country with huge investment in football

Qatar - Will host in 2022 without ever having played at a finals tournament

STILL TO PLAY: Republic of Ireland v Denmark, Australia v Honduras, Peru v New Zealand