Update: SBS Sport website to
become home
of all our sport
content on 09/08/2021.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Man United and Spurs join Super League exodus in remarkable U-turn


The European Super League is in tatters after four more English clubs announced their withdrawals.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham have all confirmed they are withdrawing from the proposed European Super League.

England's so-called "big six" announced on Sunday their involvement in the development of a European Super League with Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Juventus, Milan and Inter.

But less than 48 hours after those plans were confirmed, the competition has been left in ruins with the English sides turning their back on it.

Manchester City were the first to reveal they had in motion their decision to withdraw, while Chelsea have also begun such proceedings, though an official announcement is yet to be made.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Spurs and United – who earlier on Tuesday confirmed club chief Ed Woodward will be leaving the club at the end of 2021 in an apparently unrelated move – then released simultaneous statements ending their association with the competition.

Source Omnisport