Melbourne Victory vs Sydney FC

Current Score

  • Melbourne Victory 1
  • Sydney FC 1 Penalties

Match Profile

  • Time 7:00 PM AEDT 20 March 2010
  • League Australia A-League
  • Venue Etihad Stadium
  • Attendance 44,560
Goal Scorers
  • A. Leijer
    • 82minutes
Goal Scorers
  • M. Bridge
    • 63minutes
Team Statistics
  • Penalties 2
  • Goals at Extra-time 0
  • Goals at Full-time 1
  • Goals at Half-time 0
Team Statistics
  • Penalties 4
  • Goals at Extra-time 0
  • Goals at Full-time 1
  • Goals at Half-time 0
13 Nov 2012 - 6:07am

Sydney FC wins championship

  • The moment ... Sydney players rejoice after Byun Sung-Hwan converted the decisive penalty kick (Getty)
Sydney FC won the 2009-2010 A-League championship with a penalty shootout win over Melbourne Victory at Etihad Stadium.
PA Sport

PA Sport
20 Mar 2010 - 8:02 PM  UPDATED 13 Nov 2012 - 6:07 AM

Striker Mark Bridge's close-range header two minutes after the
hour mark had put Sydney, who topped the table at the end of the regular
season, ahead only for defender Adrian Leijer to equalise for defending
champion Melbourne with nine minutes remaining.

In the shootout,
Melbourne captain Kevin Muscat had a rare miss only for Victory keeper Mitchell
Langerak to save from Shannon Cole and tie things up.

But Sydney
keeper Clint Bolton made the ultimately decisive save from Marvin Angulo
as the Sky Blues emerged victorious in front of a season best crowd of 44,560 football fans.

After veteran midfielder Tom
Pondeljak failed to recover from a hamstring injury and was ruled out
for Melbourne before kick-off, Victory suffered a further injury
blow after just 10 minutes as striker Archie Thompson suffered a serious knee injury following a collision with Simon Colosimo and was replaced by

After a cagey opening, Langerak parried away Chris Payne's
shot four minutes before half-time before Surat Sukha headed over for
Melbourne from Nick Ward's cross.

Bridge had an excellent chance
to score early in the second half but his volley was pushed away by
Langerak before Bolton was called into action for the first time after
52 minutes to deny Ward.

Roddy Vargas had the ball in the net for
Melbourne just after the hour mark but the goal was ruled out for
offside and Sydney took full advantage to instantly open the scoring.

played the free-kick quickly and Sydney swept forward and, after Surat
could only deflect Alex Brosque's cross over a stranded Langerak, Bridge
headed in at the back post to stun the home crowd.

Payne had an
opportunity to all but seal it for Sydney but turned the ball wide with
the goal at his mercy before Carlos Hernandez went close
for Melbourne.

But the home side did not have to wait long for an
equaliser as Muscat delivered a free-kick into the area after 81
minutes and Leijer leapt high above Sebastian Ryall and finished
superbly to Bolton's left.

Leijer had another chance to score a
few minutes later but headed just over from Leigh Broxham's cross before
Melbourne substitute Aziz Behich had a chance to be a hero.

he failed to make enough contact from close range to beat Bolton as the
grand final went to extra-time for the first time.

Bridge's rifled
shot five minutes into the second period of extra-time brought the best
out of Langerak before Melbourne's Hernandez and Sydney's Cole wasted
free-kicks in the closing stages.

Terry McFlynn, standing in as captain following the career-ending injury to Steve Corica and John Aloisi's unavailability through injury, was not surprisingly ecstatic with his team's performance.

"It's a fantastic feeling amongst all the boys, I think tonight showed that us and Melbourne are the two best teams in the competition," he said.

"All season we couldn't be separated, tonight after 120 minutes we couldn't be separated, and it's come down to the dreaded penalty shootout.

"It's never an easy way to win the game but someone has to win and thankfully it was us.

"We put a belief in ourselves that we could do it, and the minor premiership and grand final win tonight proves that we could do it."

Bolton, bound for new franchise Melbourne Heart, said the triumph was all down to team unity.

"It was good to save the pen at the time but this year's been all about the team," he said.

"Vit (coach Vitezslav Lavicka) has driven that into us all year and that's what's won us the title."

Lavicka was celebrating claiming both the minor premiership and title in his first season in charge.

"It was easy for me because around me was nice people - players, coaching staff, Sydney FC fans... I enjoyed the whole season and this is like a bonus," he said.

Muscat said it was disappointing not to reward the Victory's fans with another trophy on home soil.

"It's probably the first one (penalty) I've missed and to miss it tonight on the big stage is going to haunt me for a very long time," he said.

"It was unfortunate we lost in a penalty shootout but that's life."

He refused to use the loss of Thompson as an excuse for Melbourne's inability to prevail.

"There's no doubt Archie's a quality footballer and taking him out of any team's going to alter the performance, but I thought we still created enough chances and played some good stuff at times," he said.

In the shootout the usually reliable Muscat
missed from 12 metres after Colosimo had netted for the Sky Blues.

Langerak produced a superb save from Cole, allowing Grant Brebner to
pull Melbourne level.

Hayden Foxe held his nerve for Sydney before
Bolton denied Angulo, allowing Kisel to push Sydney ahead.

kept Melbourne's hopes alive but that only delayed Sydney's
celebrations as South Korea defender Byun Sung-Hwan netted and the Sky
Blues claimed a second A-League title, having won the inaugural grand
final in 2006.

Melbourne Victory line-up: 1.Mitchell LANGERAK (gk), 2.Kevin MUSCAT (c), 5.Surat SUKHA (19. Evan BERGER 71’), 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 8.Grant BREBNER, 10.Archie THOMPSON (11.Marvin ANGULO 16'), 12.Rodrigo VARGAS, 16.Carlos HERNANDEZ, 21.Robbie KRUSE, 22.Nick WARD (25.Aziz BEHICH 76’) , 23.Adrian LEIJER.

Sydney FC line-up: 1.Clint BOLTON (gk), 2.Sebastian RYALL, 3.Stephan KELLER, 4.Simon COLOSIMO, 6.Karol KISEL, 8.Stuart MUSIALIK (5.Hayden FOXE 105’), 14. Alex BROSQUE (31. Joe GIBBS 116’), 15. Terry MCFLYNN (c), 16.Chris PAYNE (12.Shannon COLE ),19.Mark BRIDGE, 22. Sung-Hwan BYUN.

Match Commentary

minute code event
115 SO Substitute out A. Brosque of Sydney FC
115 SI Substitute in L. Gibbs of Sydney FC
105 SO Substitute out S. Musialik of Sydney FC
105 SI Substitute in H. Foxe of Sydney FC
101 YC Yellow card awarded to E. Berger of Melbourne Victory
82 YC Yellow card awarded to K. Kisel of Sydney FC
82 G GOAL (Melbourne Victory): Scored by A. Leijer
74 SO Substitute out N. Ward of Melbourne Victory
74 SI Substitute in A. Behich of Melbourne Victory
73 SO Substitute out C. Payne of Sydney FC
73 SI Substitute in S. Cole of Sydney FC
70 SO Substitute out S. Sukha of Melbourne Victory
70 SI Substitute in E. Berger of Melbourne Victory
63 G GOAL (Sydney FC): Scored by M. Bridge
62 YC Yellow card awarded to K. Muscat of Melbourne Victory
44 YC Yellow card awarded to S. Colosimo of Sydney FC
31 YC Yellow card awarded to M. Bridge of Sydney FC
26 YC Yellow card awarded to S. Ryall of Sydney FC
16 SO Substitute out A. Thompson of Melbourne Victory
16 SI Substitute in M. Angulo of Melbourne Victory

Match Statistics

Melbourne VictoryMVC

Sydney FCSYD