Brisbane Roar FC vs Perth Glory

Current Score

  • Brisbane Roar FC 4
  • Perth Glory 0

Match Profile

Goal Scorers
  • B. Berisha
    • 23minutes
    • 45minutes
  • I. Nakajima-Farran
    • 34minutes
    • 42minutes
Goal Scorers
Team Statistics
  • Goals at Half-time 4
Team Statistics
  • Goals at Half-time 0
14 May 2014 - 5:41pm

Roar grabs slice of history

  • Part of Australian sporting history ... Brisbane Roar players celebrate (Getty)
Brisbane Roar ensured its place in Australian sporting history with an emphatic 4-0 win over Perth Glory to extend its unbeaten run to 36 games.
26 Nov 2011 - 9:21 PM  UPDATED 14 May 2014 - 5:41 PM

The A-League champion was at its ruthless and clinical best to take its unbeaten streak to 36 matches and break the national club record held for 74 years by rugby league's Eastern Suburbs.

Brisbane highlighted the gulf in class between it and its chasing rivals by delivering a footballing lesson to Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

A season-high home crowd of 19,339 lapped up Roar's dominance in a one-sided first half as imports Besart Berisha and Issey Nakajima-Farran each scored a double.

It was Brisbane's 23rd win in its streak and was only behind its 7-1 round-four carve-up of Adelaide United as its best of the season.

The precision passing, attacking width and defensive pressure that have been hallmarks of Roar play in the last 18 months proved too much for Glory who failed to grab a quarter of possession in the opening stanza.

Fireworks erupted around Suncorp Stadium as Ange Postecoglou and his team celebrated a massive achievement, with the coach immensely proud of the way his players rose to the occasion.

'It was great, sometimes when opportunities come along it doesn’t always work but all forces come together today and it was a great night for the club," he said.

'Great crowd, the boys were fantastic and scored some quality goals and tonight’s performance really epitomises the type of football club we want to be.

'Tonight the players got reward for all their hard work which is great to see."

Albanian Berisha started the carnage in the 23rd minute when he finished a superb piece of play that featured a deft Henrique flick to Thomas Broich, who crossed perfectly for the striker.

Broich was at it again 10 minutes later with a brilliant lobbed pass for Nakajima-Farran to run on and chip goalkeeper Danny Vukovic.

The Canada international has struggled in front of goal this season but Nakajima-Farran had a second for the half when he made the most of a fortunate deflection off a Ivan Franjic cross in the 41st minute.

Then on the stroke of half-time, Berisha bagged his ninth of the season to extend his lead at the top of the competition's goal-scoring list after Broich and Henrique combined again at the top of the box.

Incensed Glory coach Ian Ferguson threw his drink bottle down in disgust when referee Jared Gillett called half-time, and his clueless team took its time to re-emerge after a dressing down at the break.

Two personnel changes and a shift in approach in the second half by taking the attack to the home side saw the visitor hold out Roar and give the competition pace-setter some challenging moments.

Nakajima-Farran's best game for Brisbane couldn't have been better timed as he was set to return to the bench when playmaker Mitch Nichols returns from Olyroos duty.

He now has a strong case to stay on the right wing and Broich to remain alongside Nichols in the central midfield.

Match Commentary

minute code event
82 YC Yellow card awarded to S. Smeltz of Perth Glory
79 YC Yellow card awarded to B. Berisha of Brisbane Roar FC
76 SI Substitute in J. Hingert of Brisbane Roar FC
76 SO Substitute out I. Franjic of Brisbane Roar FC
69 SI Substitute in J. Meyer of Brisbane Roar FC
69 SO Substitute out Henrique Silva of Brisbane Roar FC
59 YC Yellow card awarded to M. Smith of Brisbane Roar FC
52 SI Substitute in L. Brattan of Brisbane Roar FC
52 SO Substitute out M. Murdocca of Brisbane Roar FC
46 SI Substitute in S. McGarry of Perth Glory
46 SO Substitute out T. Amphlett of Perth Glory
46 SI Substitute in Andrezinho of Perth Glory
46 SO Substitute out T. McClenahan of Perth Glory
45 G GOAL (Brisbane Roar FC): Scored by B. Berisha
42 G GOAL (Brisbane Roar FC): Scored by I. Nakajima-Farran
34 G GOAL (Brisbane Roar FC): Scored by I. Nakajima-Farran
24 YC Yellow card awarded to J. Burns of Perth Glory
23 G GOAL (Brisbane Roar FC): Scored by B. Berisha

Match Statistics

Brisbane RoarBRI

Perth GloryPER