• Germany 2006 heroes ... Kewell, Aloisi and Cahill make the selection for the most recent FFA Team of the decade (Getty)
FFA acknowledged the heroes of yesterday by naming its Teams of the Decade, in conjunction with the 50th Anniversary of FIFA Membership at a Hall of Fame function.

Football Federation Australia
17 Dec 2013 - 2:25 PM  UPDATED 14 May 2014 - 5:18 PM

From Johnny Warren through to Mark Schwarzer, Julie Dolan to Sarah Walsh, Australia’s greatest footballers and coaches covering 19 FIFA World Cup campaigns, eight FIFA World Cup Finals appearances, eight Olympic Games and countless milestone moments were acknowledged in eight Teams of the Decade:

:: Men's 1963–1970

:: Men's 1971–1980

:: Men's 1981–1989

:: Men's 1990–1999

:: Men's 2000–2013

:: Women's 1979–1989

:: Women's 1990–1999

:: Women's 2000–2013

"Football's influence on Australian Society is undergoing significant growth in social, economic and political terms but today we embrace and celebrate our proud history and honour the pioneers who went before us," Football Federation Australia Chief Executive Officer David Gallop said on Tuesday.

"We are proud of our multicultural foundations and the footballers selected in the Team's of the Decade represent these foundations of not only football but Australian Society. Forget about a dividing line between "old" and "new" – it's all one football history and one football story.

"Put simply, football is the face of Australia in all its diversity. No other sport can match football’s universal appeal and accessibility and as the Asian Century unfolds, this undeniable truth will only become more entrenched.

"We must continue to drive football into the future but at all times remember our past and today we salute the men and women who have been selected in the Teams of the Decade."