Joeys coach Jean-Paul de Marigny has selected a 23-player squad for the AFC U-16 Championship qualifiers which will be held in Canberra from 6-16 October 2009.
Football Federation Australia
24 Sep 2009 - 1:42 PM  UPDATED 14 May 2014 - 5:10 PM

“Han Berger (FFA National Technical Director), Jan Versleijen (FFA National Youth Coach) and I looked at around 45 players over four training camps to select this final squad of 23 players,” said de Marigny

“This is a very competitive squad with cover for all positions around the park.

“Although the players are relatively young, the more matches that they play together, the better they will understand the system and organisation that is needed to play at an international level.

“I'm looking forward to the tournament and believe we can qualify for the next level (AFC U-16 Championship) in 2010.”

The Joeys have been drawn in Group H of the AFC U-16 Championship (Qualifiers) alongside Malaysia and Laos. The three nations will play each other twice between the 6th – 16th October with the top nation progressing directly to the AFC U-16 Championship.

The AFC U-16 Championship 2010 will be played from 2-17 October with the venue to be announced later this year.

The Joeys face Laos in the opening match of the tournament on Tuesday 6 October at McKellar Park (kick-Off 2:00pm AEST).

JOEYS SQUAD - AFC U-16 Championship qualifiers
Kobbie Boahene
Corey Brown
Alex Cerruto
Connor Chapman
Samuel Chapple
Joshua Da Silva
Milos Degenek
Hernan Espindola
Giancarlo Gallifuoco
Stevan Ilic
Aaron Liddell
Jesse Makarounas
Jake Monaco
Hayden Morton
Andrew Mullett
Brodie Paterson
Yianni Perkatis
Luke Remington
Daniel Sadaka
Lachlan Tibbles
Abe Wheelhouse
Jakob Williams
Kwame Yeboah